top of page
  • Writer's pictureLily Alinaghizadeh

blog #2

Updated: Oct 25, 2018

My individual research project was about ballpoint pens and how this invention has impacted people around the world. I can apply what I learned about the pen-making process to the JPL project we are currently working on. For the pen, they had to figure out how to develop the clicking mechanism just like we are trying to figure out how to make the motor turn the clamp to make the pipe go into the upright position. Also, just as Biro and his brother were testing various ink formulas to develop a fast-drying ink, we have been testing the motor and clamp we purchased online to see the most efficient way to move the pipe upright.

In our JPL group, we were able to buy all of our materials online with the money we earned at the bake sale. Since we have access to all of the materials, we are able to start the testing process early on. One thing that is not going well is that not all members are involved in the testing process and some of the group members are not assigned tasks to complete. Since there are so many members of the group, it is difficult splitting the work for this project.

I do expect our group to run into problems in these coming weeks. My group has spent many days working with the clamp and figuring out how that works. They have not been discussing how the motor will turn the ramp holding the clamp. Also, I think a problem will arise regarding the strength of the motor to lift the ramp that will rotate the pipe's orientation.

Outside of engineering and school, I am working on the long college application process. Each school I am applying to requires additional writing supplements, so I have many essays to write! I think I finalized my list for schools I am applying to, and I have finally chosen which school I am applying early action for. I had a meeting with my college counselor, and I discussed my plans after high school. The college application process is exciting and at the same time, scary. Some schools are across the country, so it will be a difficult transition if admitted there.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

blog #9

I plan on attending UC Santa Cruz in the fall and decide if I want to major in human biology or biomedical engineering. My biggest piece of advice is to manage time efficiently and not procrastinate o

bottom of page