top of page
  • Writer's pictureLily Alinaghizadeh

Blog #4

I found the opportunity of competing against students from local high schools being quite exciting. I was able to see the uniqueness of each design and how groups decided to approach the problem. When I saw groups using the vex materials, I was surprised and curious how they were able to make it work. It also amazed me how many innovative minds participated in this challenge.

Although our group was able to successfully complete the task of lifting the pipe, it was hard having all ten students be involved in the design development and testing process. If we could start over, I think tasks should be assigned to every individual from the beginning to ensure that everyone in the group is on the same page in regards to the development of the idea. Also, it would have been better if we discussed changes that could be made rather than just changing it and realizing it will not work. Our group, however, was very open-minded to new ideas and suggestions which is very important in successful group work.

It was overall an exciting process! It was a unique experience being able to actually design and develop a prototype from scratch. Also, I was able to use my limited artistic skills and draw the rough and final sketches of the design. Although our group may not have collaborated in the best manner, we were able to place sixth in the regional competition which is awesome!








2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

blog #9

I plan on attending UC Santa Cruz in the fall and decide if I want to major in human biology or biomedical engineering. My biggest piece of advice is to manage time efficiently and not procrastinate o

bottom of page